Ginger kick

Another Sunday and that means time to bake my dessert for the rest of the week. One small issue: a quick look in the fridge learned that I forgot to buy eggs, and after the bacon and eggs for breakfast, I only had the one egg left. I live in a tiny village, so no shops open on Sunday afternoon… I could go to the neighbours to borrow some eggs, but I already did that a while back and never returned any. Their eggs come from their chicken, so I figured they wouldn’t be interested in my (although free-range) shop bought variety… so maybe not really an option after all. I needed a recipe with only 1 egg! But I really felt like making a ginger sponge… Luckily, a quick look at the recipe showed that I only need 1 egg! Imagine my luck! It doesn’t need many other ingredients either, thanks to the Hairy BikersMums still know best recipe. Here it is:

Ginger sponge
Sticky and delicious

Line a square baking tin or a 28×18 cm baking tin with baking parchment and preheat the oven to 180C. Mix 200 g self-raising flour, 200 g sugar, 1 tsp ground ginger, and 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda in a bowl. Rub in 55 g soft butter (or margarine) with your fingers, then add 1 beaten egg, 2 tbsp golden syrup and 240 ml hot water. Mix everything together well with a wooden spoon. Pour the mixture into the prepared tin and bake in the oven for 35-40 min. Leave to cool in the tin and cut into squares when cold. Very, very sticky but also very, very delicious! I took the leftovers to work: all my colleagues asked for seconds and within half an hour everything was gone!

2 thoughts on “Ginger kick

  1. Pingback: Ready for winter: ginger cake « Deliciously Sarah

  2. Pingback: Not quite spring yet: spiced pumpkin cake « Deliciously Sarah

Let me know what you think!

