So easy and always a success: rocky road squares

Rocky road squares
Rocky road squares

I’m always surprised that this is such a big hit because it just so easy to make! Even grown ups get a twinkle in their eye when I opened my box at work recently (I made them for my birthday). Some colleagues seemed to have so many questions they had to come and personally ask me that day… Needless to say, I only took an empty box back home! This is again one of my trusted GoodFood recipes, this time I got it from one of their small books, 101 cakes & bakes.

Line a 20 cm square tin with baking paper (if you don’t have a square tin, you can also make one yourself out of tin foil – or you can buy Lakeland’s Parchment Lined Foil, I’ve just bought it and already I’m a big fan!). In a heatproof bowl set over a pan of simmering water (aka “au bain marie”), gently melt 500 g milk or dark chocolate, broken into pieces. Then stir in 10 marshmallows cut into small pieces and 85 g roughly chopped mixed nuts (pecans, almonds or walnuts will all do as well).

Pour the mixture into the tin and smooth the top. Leave to set for at least 2 hours (or overnight) before cutting it into 2.5 cm squares. To get a smooth and easy cut, just dip a sharp knife in hot water and wipe it, the heat will make it much easier to cut the squares. Trust me, this chewy, crunchy bite will be an instant hit anywhere… Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “So easy and always a success: rocky road squares

  1. Pingback: Foolproof classic: chocolate and cardamom mousse « Deliciously Sarah

Let me know what you think!

