My mom’s Easter classic: cookie pie with coffee buttercream

Easter cookie pieThis is my mom’s famous Easter pie. She loves it, my dad loves it even more, my grandparents love it, basically everybody is crazy about it but me… I’ve never been a big buttercream fan and I’m not a coffee drinker either, so maybe that’s why. But nobody really minds, it just means there is more pie left for them! So even though it’s not a personal favourite, I’m sure a lot of people will be interested in the recipe! So I kindly asked my mom to send me the family secret and here it is! Also a big thumps up for her Easter decorations, don’t you just love them?

First make the buttercream: mix 250 g softened butter with 150 g icing sugar  and 2 egg yolks. Dissolve 1 tbsp instant coffee (my mom uses Nescafé) in 3 tbsp hot water, add to the buttercream and mix again. You are now ready to assemble your pie: you will need about 2 packets of digestive biscuits (try to find LU’s petit-beurre, they really make all the difference) and enough milk to soak them in.

Cookie by cookie, soak them in the mil and put them next to each other (this obviously works best with square or rectangular cookies) to create an even layer. My mom puts them 3 by 3. Now cover with a tin layer of buttercream. Put another layer of soaked cookies, followed by more buttercream and repeat until you have 5 layers. Cover the sides in buttercream as well.

Put 3 cookies in a plastic bag and crush with a rolling pin. Use the crumbles to cover the sides of the pie. If you prefer, you can use chocolate shavings or nuts as well. Decorate to your liking and store in a cool place until ready to serve. This cake will easily keep for up to a week, if you can resist that long that is! Enjoy while listening to Does your mother know by Abba. Happy Easter!

One thought on “My mom’s Easter classic: cookie pie with coffee buttercream

  1. Pingback: Blueberry and pistachio cake with coffee cardamom cream | Deliciously Sarah

Let me know what you think!

