Dreaming of summer: strawberry tart

strawberry tartsNo, it’s not the end of my rhubarb mania series, there is still one more recipe in the pipeline, but it’s a chutney so the flavours need to develop first before I can have a taste, and I only post recipes that get my (and my family, colleagues, friends…) seal of approval. So in the mean time, I came up with these lovely tarts, perfect for a cold, wet autumn night… oh wait no, it’s officially summer isn’t it? It’s so easy to get your seasons mixed up these days! Anyway, for this recipe, I mixed-and-matched some existing recipes as follows:

First, I made the tart cases. I still had some dough in the freezer from making my lemon tart because I always make double and freeze half. For half of the dough (it resulted in about 10 tarts), mix 250 g plain flour and 70 g icing sugar in a bowl. Rub 125 g cubed butter into the flour with your fingers until crumbly. Mix in 2 egg yolks and roll into a ball. Flatten out the pastry with your hands, wrap the dough in cling film, then chill for at least 30 mins. 

After 30 min, roll out the pastry on a lightly floured surface to about the thickness of a £1 coin, then lift into your small tart cases. Press down gently on the bottom and sides, then trim off any excess pastry. Stab a few holes in the bottom with a fork and put back in the fridge for 30 min. Heat the oven to 140 C. Line the tarts with foil and fill with rice or dried beans. Bake for 10 min, then remove the tart tin from the oven, discard the foil, and bake for another 20 min until biscuity. Take out of the oven and leave to cool in the tin for 5 min before turning out onto a wire rack to cool completely. Of course you can also use shop bought crust pastry instead. 

For the filling, I used the filling from my raspberry tart: whisk 200 ml crème fraîche until firm (it needs to be cold, otherwise you’ll have difficulty whisking it, so don’t take it out of the fridge until you are ready to use it). Then add 85 g caster sugar1/2 tsp vanilla essence and the juice and zest of 1/2 lemon. Whisk again to get a thick cream. Spread over the bottom of the tart cases.

Finally top with your favourite fruit, I used strawberries (you’ll need about 200 g) but it will work with any type of food you fancy. Enjoy!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Dreaming of summer: strawberry tart

  1. Pingback: Rhubarb mania part 5: rhubarb and custard pie with butter crumble | Deliciously Sarah

Let me know what you think!

