Rhubarb mania part 4: rhubarb and date chutney

rhubarb chutneyBy this time, I was nearly out of rhubarb so I ended up making only half of this recipe, still good for 3 jars of chutney. Just the right amount for a father’s day present! My dad is a big rhubarb fan and part of the reason why I didn’t like it much growing up: he doesn’t have a sweet tooth, so he would fill a tart case with as much rhubarb as possible and sprinkle very little sugar over it (or at least, that’s what it looked like as a child), so I always thought it was way too tart for me. But now I was ready to try it again, and I’m a big fan! So I might add some more recipes if I can get my hands on my dad’s rhubarb… Here’s how to make the GoodFood chutney:

Chop 500 g red onions and put them in a large pan with 50 g grated fresh ginger and 300 ml red wine vinegar. Bring to the boil, then simmer for 10 min. Add 500 g chopped apples, 200 g dates (pitted and chopped), 200 g dried cranberries (or use raisins instead), 1 tbsp mustard seeds, a pinch of curry powder (the recipe calls for a tbsp, but it gets very overpowering so a pinch is enough), 400 g sugar and 2 tsp salt to the pan and bring to the boil, stirring. Simmer, uncovered, for about 10 min until the apples are tender. Meanwhile, slice 700 g rhubarb into 2 cm chunks.

Stir in the rhubarb and cook, uncovered, until the chutney is thick and jammy, about 15-20 min. Leave the chutney to sit for about 10-15 min, then spoon into warm, clean jars, and seal. Label the jars when cool. Keep for at least a month before eating. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Rhubarb mania part 4: rhubarb and date chutney

  1. Pingback: Rhubarb mania part 5: rhubarb and custard pie with butter crumble | Deliciously Sarah

Let me know what you think!

