Dairy-free and gluten-free: blueberry and coconut cake

dairy-free and gluten-free blueberry and coconut cakeThis weekend my in-laws came to visit but despite of the heat, we managed to keep our cool. My sister-in-law is on a dairy-free and gluten-free diet since a few months, so that was a new challenge for me. But I like a good challenge, and I went in search for a nice cake recipe. I found this one on the GoodFood website as a dairy-free recipe and it was easily adapted to make it gluten-free as well. It went down a treat and my sister-in-law went home with the few left-overs! Here’s how to make it:

Heat the oven to 160C and grease a 22 cm Bundt or ring tin with vegetable oil (I used sunflower). Whisk 250 ml sunflower oil, 3 eggs, 225 g sugar and 2 tsp vanilla extract in a large bowl. In another bowl, combine 300 g gluten-free flour, 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda (or use self-raising flour) and 50 g desiccated coconut. Alternately, fold the flour mix and 175 ml soya milk into the wet ingredients, in 2-3 batches, starting and ending with the flour.

Spoon a quarter into the tin. Fold 140 g blueberries (they can be fresh or frozen, I prefer frozen as they break up more and give a blue colour and more flavour to the cake) into the remaining batter, then spoon into the tin. Bake for 1 h or until a skewer comes out clean (cover the cake with tin foil if it browns too quickly).

Cool in tin for 10 min, then turn out onto a wire rack and cool completely. Dust with icing sugar to serve. Enjoy!

Let me know what you think!

