Almost the end of summer: goosberry and orange drizzle cake

Gooseberry and orange drizzle cakeI really love gooseberries, but they are quite hard to find. A lot of people have or used to have them in the garden so supermarkets don’t stock them very often. But last week I was lucky: I noticed the supermarket had some gooseberries and I immediatly bought some! Then I had to figure out what to do with them. A friend was coming over for dinner so I decided a gooseberry cake would be perfect. I wanted to test a recipe from my Polish cookbook, but then I noticed it had proofing in it and would take too long, I wanted the quick and easy type, so I turned to my trusted GoodFood recipes and found this one. It turned out to be really delicious! Here’s how to make it:

 

Heat oven to 160 C. Butter and line a 20 x 30cm traybake tin with baking parchment (I didn’t have one, so I used my round tin).

Put 225 g butter (softened, just microwave it for 20-30 sec if it comes from the fridge), 225 g sugar, 225 g self-raising flour, 4 eggs and the zest of 1 orange (you’ll need the juice for the frosting) in a bowl. Beat thoroughly with an electric whisk until creamy and smooth. Stir in 225 g gooseberries, then spoon into the tin and level the surface. Bake for 35 mins until a skewer inserted into the cake comes out clean.

While the cake is in the oven, stir the orange juice and 140 g sugar together, spoon over the surface of the warm cake and leave to cool and set. Enjoy!

 

One thought on “Almost the end of summer: goosberry and orange drizzle cake

Let me know what you think!

